5 drug drop-off sites in La Crosse County on April 26

Wis. attorney general, DNR secretary promote prescription drug take-back day

The Wisconsin Department of Justice and the Department of Natural Resources are teaming up to promote National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day.

People can drop off their unused, expired and unwanted drugs on April 26 at collection sites across the state. The five La Crosse County locations will be open from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Here are the five drug drug-off locations in La Crosse County:

Onalaska Police Department, 415 Main Street, Onalaska
Viterbo Fine Arts Parking Lot, 929 Jackson Street, La Crosse
CESA #4, 923 E. Garland St., West Salem Holmen Village Hall, 421 S. Main Street, Holmen La Crosse County HHM (Household Hazardous Materials), 6500 State Road 16, La Crosse

The day is designed to get unused, expired and unwanted drugs out of people’s homes to prevent opiate addictions, which police say often lead to heroin abuse.

Here are the items you can drop off at the first four sites listed above:

Prescription medications
Over-the-counter medications

The fifth location, the La Crosse County HHM, will accept all the items listed above as well as the following additional items:

Mercury thermometers
Fluorescent lamps and electronics
Household Wastes (paint, pesticides, etc.)
Business Waste (Call (608) 785-9999 for disposal info)

There will also be five drug drop-off locations in Monroe County.

For more drop-off locations, visit the United States Drug Enforcement website.

Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen and DNR Secretary Cathy Stepp issued a joint statement urging people to use the collection sites.

Van Hollen says the day gives everyone a chance to fight back against heroin. Stepp says using the collection sites means fewer prescription drugs won’t get flushed or discarded in a landfill, reducing harm to the environment and wildlife.