Disaster proclamation issued for 2 Iowa counties

Gov. Kim Reynolds has issued a disaster proclamation in two Iowa counties suffering recent severe weather and flooding.

The proclamation covers Hamilton County in central Iowa and O’Brien County in northwestern Iowa.

The only state resources currently requested with the proclamation is the activation of the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant and Disaster Case Management programs.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level. The money can be used for such things as home and car repairs, temporary housing expenses or replacement of clothing or food.

Disaster Case Management offers case managers to work with clients to create a disaster recovery plan and provide guidance, advice and referral to obtain a service or resource.