Division 3 Cross Country: Brookwood boys, Kickapoo/La Farge girls qualify for State

Brookwood boys and Kickapoo/La Farge girls cross country each finished in the top two places at their Division 3 sectional to qualify for next week’s State meet.

Brookwood finished with a score of 38 to match Darlington, with Darlington winning the tiebreaker. The Falcons had four runners finish in places 5-8. Sophomroe Dylan Powell led the team with a time of 18:22.

Cashton’s Jarret Carpenter became the program’s first individual sectional winner, taking first with a time of 16:45.

Necedah senior Isaiah Herried (17:25), New Liston senior Owen Jones (17:43), and Kickapoo/La Farge sophomore Nolan Reese (17:55) qualified for State as individuals.

Kickapoo/La Farge girls, meanwhile, took second in their sectional, also by tiebreaker, with Lancaster taking first. Anelise Egge led the team taking second overall with a time of 20:01.

North Crawford senior Helen Carstens (20:20) and Royall freshman Marah Gruen (20:34) qualified as individuals.