La Crosse County awards $1.3 million in grants for flood projects

LA CROSSE (WKBT) — La Crosse County awarded $1.3 million in grants for flood projects in four towns.

The funding comes from the county’s Stormwater Infrastructure Grant Program, fueled by ARPA funding. Grants up to $50,000 were available for conceptual applications and up to $500,000 for designed and ready-to-go projects. Funding for nine projects were approved Monday by the Planning, Resource and Development Committee.

Conceptual Applications ($147,300)

  • Town of Campbell – Lakeshore, Plainview, Jerald
  • Town of Campbell – Pierce, Youngdale
  • Town of Campbell – Spillway, Lakeview
  • Town of Holland – Gaynors Rolling Hills
  • Town of Shelby – Boma Road
  • Town of Shelby – Ebner Coulee

Designed Applications ($1,150,520)

  • Town of Shelby – Wedgewood Valley
  • Town of Onalaska – Apple Valley
  • Town of Onalaska – Thunderbird Hills

The Town of Shelby plans involve ditching, upgrading storm sewers and installing sediment control structures along Valley Road. In the Town of Onalaska, the plans also include ditching, as well as increasing driveway culvert sizes and constructing infiltration basins to protect against flooding.

The total funding available from the program was $2 million. The next funding application cycle ends in April of next year.