La Crosse County Board chair will not run for re-election in 2020

LA CROSSE, Wis. WKBT) The chair of the La Crosse County Board will not run for re-election in 2020. Speaking to News 8, Tara Johnson said the decision was based on personal reasons and to allow others to step up into a leadership position.

Johnson was first elected to the board of supervisors in April 2000. She represents the 29th District, which includes the town of Shelby, where she lives with her husband.

When Steve Doyle resigned as chair, Johnson was elected by the county board to fill the position in July 2011. Since then, the board has continued to reelect her to the position.

Johnson has served on a number of committees, including the Heroin and Illicit Drug Task Force, Mississippi River Regional Planning Commission and the Criminal Justice Management Council.

The deadline is Friday for current board members to file paperwork stating if they will not run for reelection.

Get your weather forecast from people that actually live in your community. We update with short, easy-to-use video forecasts you can watch on your phone every day. Download the iOS or Android app here.