Seattle Storm wins third WNBA title

The Seattle Storm defeated the Washington Mystics 98-82 Wednesday night in Game 3 to sweep the WNBA Finals.

Breanna Stewart led the Storm with 30 points and Natasha Howard scored 29 points to go along with 14 rebounds to finish the best-of-five series and give Seattle its third WNBA title.

Stewart, who was named the WNBA’s regular season MVP, also earned WNBA Finals MVP honors for her performance in the series, averaging 25 points per game.

Elena Delle Donne and Kristi Toliver led the way for the Mystics in the loss, scoring 23 and 22 points, respectively.

The Mystics were playing in the franchise’s first Finals. They had their work cut out for them Wednesday despite playing at EagleBank Arena, their home court in Fairfax, Virginia, after falling behind 2-0 in the series’ first two games in Seattle.

Since changing to a best-of-five format for the Finals in 2005, no WNBA team has gone down 2-0 and recovered to force a Game 5.

While Seattle won championships in 2010 and 2004, Washington is the last WNBA team to reach the Finals. The team, which formed in 1998, had been to the semifinals twice before this season, losing to New York in 2002 and to the eventual champion Minnesota Lynx in 2017.