Sen. Shilling wins Senate leadership position, responds to recount request

Despite a pending recount with Dan Kapanke, Wisconsin Democratic Sen. Jennifer Shilling is reelected as the Senate Democratic Leader.

According to a statement released Tuesday, Shilling won after a unanimous vote among other state Senate Democrats.

In addition to Shilling, Sen. Janet Bewley (D-Delta) was elected as the assistant leader, Sen. Mark Miller (D-Monona) was elected to caucus chair and Sen. Janis Ringhand (D-Evansville) was elected to caucus vice-chair.

Earlier Tuesday, Shilling’s Republican challenger Dan Kapanke’s campaign attorney told the Wisconsin State Elections Commission that he would be submitting a formal request Wednesday for a recount.

According to the La Crosse County Clerk’s Office, Shilling currently holds a lead by just 56 votes.

“After all of the votes were counted and canvassed, local clerks reported their official tally to the State Elections Commission and the result in the 32nd Senate District remains the same as it was two weeks ago. The decision to put taxpayers through a costly recount is up to my opponent. With the election behind us, I’m going to keep my focus on moving Wisconsin forward,” said Shilling in a statement released to Tuesday afternoon.

It may take over a week for the results of a recount to be released.