The Latest: Former governors to attend Evers inaugural

The Latest on Wisconsin inauguration (all times local):

8:07 a.m.
Five former Wisconsin governors plan to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Tony Evers.

The former governors are among the dignitaries expected to attend the Monday inauguration of Evers and other state officials elected in November.

The former governors slated to attend are Scott Walker, Jim Doyle, Scott McCallum, Tommy Thompson and Martin Schreiber. The only living governor not scheduled to attend is Tony Earl.

Evers is to take the oath of office from Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Pat Roggensack. All other statewide constitutional officers, along with newly elected members of the Legislature, are also getting sworn in.

An inaugural ball follows the official events Monday night in Madison.
10:47 p.m.
Democrat Tony Evers is set to take the oath of office and replace Gov. Scott Walker during a noon ceremony Monday at the state Capitol, ending eight years of Republican dominance in Wisconsin.

Evers’ inauguration will herald a new era of Wisconsin politics. While Republicans will maintain control of the Legislature, having Evers in place will give Democrats the power to block GOP bills and force either compromise or gridlock.

Evers has been the state education superintendent since 2009 and is a former teacher and school principal. He was to be sworn into office along with other constitutional officers and state lawmakers.

Walker and other former governors are expected to be among the dignitaries in attendance.
An inaugural ball in Madison was scheduled for Monday night.

Get your weather forecast from people that actually live in your community. We update with short, easy-to-use video forecasts you can watch on your phone every day. Download the iOS or Android app here.