Three recognized for promoting unity at Iverson Freking awards in La Crosse

Bishop Jim Arends, FSC's Audrey Lucier and Viterbo's Kay Berra honored

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WKBT) — Those who promote unity throughout the Coulee Region are being recognized for their generosity.

Three people were honored at the 35th Iverson Freking Awards Banquet at the Radisson Center in La Crosse.

The award recognizes people who encourage unity in Christian churches and provide dedication to the entire area.

One of the recipients, retired Bishop Jim Arends, said he thinks he received the award for doing a number of things to hold up the community, including supporting Muslims during times of crisis.

“It was a good statement about the work that our La Crosse Area Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America has done to ecumenical and work together,” said Arends, former bishop of the synod.

Franciscan Spirituality Center director Audrey Lucier and Viterbo University education program coordinator Kay Berra also received awards.

The ceremony is sponsored by Bethany St. Joseph Corp.

The awards program, in honor of the late Carl Iverson and the late Bishop Frederick Freking, has honored 79 people over the years.

Recent News Headlines from News 8 Now  
City of Osseo applies for funding for safe drinking water
Mayo Clinic experts say cases in latest surge have peaked in Wisconsin and Minnesota
UPDATE: Missing La Crosse man found safe 
Onalaska firefighters face different challenges in icy temperatures