Three UWL professors named Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars


A banner with the UW-Madison crest on Bascom Hill flaps in the wind on January 8, 2022. WISC-TV/Channel3000.

MADISON (WKBT) — The UW System announced its selection of the 2022-2023 Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars Thursday, with three UW-La Crosse professors making the list.

UW named Valerie Krage, Kristina LaPlant and Taylor Cole Miller from UW-La Crosse. Krage’s area of study is early childhood education; LaPlant’s is American political behavior and Miller, media studies.

Also named were two professors from UW-Eau Claire — Sarita Mizin in feminist theory, medical humanities and 19th-century literature and Kaia Simon in literacy, multilingual writers, feminisms, rhetoric and composition.

Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars must demonstrate excellent teaching skills and have a curiosity about student learning to be nominated by provosts, according to the UW System. The year-long program begins in late May and culminates with a research presentation at the annual Spring Conference on Teaching and Learning in Madison.

Recent News Headlines from News 8 Now

La Crosse fire investigators sift through rubble of India Curry House for clues

American Legion Riders escort pieces of Vietnam War Veterans Memorial wall to La Crosse

La Crosse teachers, petitioners ask for more school resource officers

Bird flu takes unheard-of toll on bald eagles, other birds