Wisconsin DNR secretary names top directors

MADISON, Wis. (AP) — Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Secretary Cathy Stepp has named three new regional directors.

Jean Romback-Bartels will lead the Northeast Region. Romback-Bartels has worked for the agency for 18 years and has served as acting regional director for almost a year. The previous director, Ron Kazmierczak, retired late last year.

Mark Aquino will head the South Central Region. He has worked for the DNR since 2001 after stints with the state Department of Transportation and Legislative Audit Bureau. He replaces Lloyd Eagan. DNR spokeswoman Laurel Steffes said Eagan chose to move to a position overseeing region water quality in August.

Eric Nitschke, the Sussex public workers director village engineer, will serve as the Southeast Region director. Former regional director Gloria McCutcheon retired last month.